Working to save the San Fernando Valley's Last Remaining
16 Acres of UnprotectedOpen Space on the L.A. River
Join our email list to stay informed!

About us

Save LA River Open Space is committed to protecting the last remaining 16 acres of unprotected open space along the Los Angeles River in the San Fernando Valley.

Our goals for this unique and irreplaceable property on the L.A. River: 
  • Create natural water quality improvement opportunities
  • Enhance unique LA riverfront site
  • Permanent preservation for public open space
  • Restore natural habitat
  • Protect historical recreational use
  • Provide Los Angeles River and River Trail access
  • Ensure compatability with L.A. City’s LA River Revitalization Master plan and other regional plans for the L.A. River

We are a non-profit, all volunteer organization, allied with the Studio City Residents Association (SCRA). We are working with area leaders and regional organizations to protect critical open space in Studio City and surrounding areas of the San Fernando Valley. We are dedicated to protecting our environment and to partnering with regional community, civic and conservation groups to protect the precious open space resources of the L.A. River. We have fought for many years to protect this precious property, because we know that once it is lost, it can never be replaced. The Studio City area has over 40,000 residents, and has seen traffic and congestion steadily worsen. We know that green open space, mature trees and clean water are of paramount importance to us and to the region – not more development in an already over-built area with very few open space resources.

Board of Directors

Alan Dymond
Art Howard
Chip Meehan
Aaron Mendelsohn
Barbara Robbin
Laurie Cohn
Patty Kirby
Steve Hirsh
Tony Lucente, Advisory

Alan Dymond, President
Laurie Cohn, Vice-President
Patty Kirby, Secretary
Bryan Abrams, Treasurer

Our Committee

Adam Hirsh
Andrea Sher
Anita Hirsh
Ann Sisneros
Anita Sokolsky
Barbara Kantro
Beth Dymond
Bruce Bilson
Helen Giroux
Jess Whitehill
Jody Church
Mary Margaret Fekete
Mikie Di Matteo
Olimpia Feig
Pam Hirsh
Renne Bilson
Sue Estin

©© Save LA River Open Spacespacersite created by mila benedicto rosenthalspacer SaveOpenSpace@SLAROS.orgspacert.818.509.0230